Schedule Maryland Firearms Training (410) 207-4449
16 Hour Initial Training Course $400 per student
includes a firearm & ammunition. We also offer a
Concierge Service for those that need assistance with the HGP application ($100.00)
8 Hour Renewal Training Course $200.00 per student
The initial course consists of 2 classroom sessions.
(Day 2) is the live fire qualification component (Range) for a total of 16 hours of instruction. A shooting score of 70% is required for successful completion. This class is a requirement to obtain your Maryland Wear and Carry Permit (Handgun Permit).
The renewal course consists of 1 classroom sessions and the live fire qualification component (Range) for a total of 8 hours of instruction. A shooting score of 70% is required for successful completion. This class is a requirement to obtain your Maryland Wear and Carry Renewal Permit (Handgun Permit).
Private classes are also available, see our private class page.
Class fees include range fees, handguns, ammunition. Students are responsible for the associated application fees, fingerprinting fees, and any other fees required by the Maryland State Police.
**The student can supply his/her own firearm, eye/hearing protection, etc. Firearms and ammo are available for those who have not yet purchased a handgun.
***While this course satisfies all the requirements as issued by the Maryland State Police, Vision1tactical LLC does not guarantee that an applicant will qualify on the MSP handgun qualification course (25 rounds from 3, 5, 7, 15 yards) or receive approval for the MD Handgun Permit. Permits are approved at the discretion of the Maryland State Police".
****Please see exemptions list at the bottom of this page. The student is responsible to know whether or not they are training exempt. Class fees are not refundable.
Per the Maryland State Police, this training is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. Don't wait until the last minute to renew. The Maryland State Police must receive your renewal application no less 90 business days from the date of your expiration.
Additional Information Applicable to both Initial and Re-certification/Renewal Clients Who needs to take the training?
Every original application and renewal application submitted after October 1, 2013, unless exempt.
In accordance with the Firearms Safety Act of 2013, the Maryland State Police have developed a web/mobile accessible Licensing Portal where citizens may submit, and Maryland firearms dealers have the ability to access, firearms applications.
The Portal is a web ‘dashboard’ that provides citizens the ability to submit and track multiple application types.
On October 1, 2019, the Licensing Division expanded the Licensing Portal to include an automated Handgun Permit (Wear/Carry) application.
All original, renewal, subsequent, modification, and replacement requests are now submitted and processed electronically through the Portal.
Please see the below training course to be used in our HGP class during Q & A, It is not a replacement for the 16-8 hour required training course" The V1T study guide is also a resource for your continued education.
Get a handgun permit and protect yourself. We offer our CCW handgun permit classes in-person on weekday's after work and on the weekends.